The Nerdy Nomad

Off to Vietnam and Cambodia

I am very excited to be off on a 2 and 1/2 week trip in Southern Vietnam and Cambodia. I will be meeting up my friend Stephanie, who is my oldest and one of my closest friends. She and I met in the first grade, i.e. when we were 6 years old, and despite my family moving to London the following year, we have managed to stay in touch. When I was living in New York, her family sort of adopted me and I spent several weekends escaping the stress of Columbia at their house in Connecticut. On her way to Rome for her year abroad, she lived with my parents in London for several weeks. She has the rare privilege of having won over my mother. In fact, my mother likes Steph so much that she has extended her an open invitation to family holidays – I, the daughter, on the other hand have no such luck. Indeed I have sometimes come very close to being uninvited.

We will also be traveling with two friends of hers, Anna and Andrew. Anna, Stephanie and I will travel together from Ho Chi Minh City, in Vietnam, to Phnom Penh, the capital of Cambodia, via the Mekong Delta. There, Anna will leave us for Bangkok and then head up to the Thai-Burmese border to work with Burmese refugees. Around the same time, we will be joined by Andrew, who is enjoying his last months of freedom before beginning law school in the Fall. The three of us will head down to the coast of Southern Cambodia, hang out on the beach for a week or so, and then get off our tanned (or in my case burnt) derrieres for a bit of culture at Angkor Wat.

I take with me my trusty Canon EOS 500, an analog camera that saw me through my travels around South America and has been accumulating dust on my shelf for the 5 years since. Therefore, posts will initially come without photos and I will add them later.

This entry was published on April 12, 2011 at 4:57 pm. It’s filed under Cambodia, Vietnam and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

